RSS

Binakol na Manok

27 Apr

You might think that this is a typical Tinolang manok, but No. This is way much tastier than that. I first tasted “Binakol na Manok” when an uncle came to visit and demonstrated his kitchen skills – yes, I’m always happy with visitors who cook! Anyway, the taste of the broth is so different from tinolang manok that it’ll leave your buds wanting for more. The coconut water(or juice) is what creates a distinct taste – a tinge of sweetness – on this soup.

This is an original Ilonggo food, so what better way to sample the best Binakol na Manok but from IloIlo City itself. So we went to Plazuela De iloilo – a gorgeous place with a Spanish-Italian inspired building enclosing a plaza – where you can find a chain of restaurants. We chose this restaurant “Ponsyon by Breakthrough”. The Binakol na Manok here is truly delicious. Definitely on my top list of Filipino Food.

On Binakol na Manok;

  • The traditional way of cooking Binakol na manok is by cooking it inside a bamboo (tube) over an open fire.
  • Ilonggos are proud to claim that Chicken Binakol is an original Ilonggo dish
  • Binakol is said to be an Ilonggo term(karay-a) for cooking inside a bamboo tube – thus the name Binakol na Manok.
 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Restaurant/Cafe Foods

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Binakol na Manok

  1. katskusina

    April 28, 2012 at 4:22 am

    Hi,

    I had my first binakol na manok in an old homestyle restaurant/bar in Iloilo (near West Visayas State University where I went to school). Sadly, the owners of that place left to be with their children abroad but man, was that binakol delicious!

    -Cath

     
    • iloveeverythingfood

      April 28, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      Hi Cath,
      Our firsts with “Binakol na Manok” experience clearly left imprints in our taste buds. I couldn’t agree with you more. That old restaurant must have been a great place. Iloilo right now is evolving fast with several high rise building and developments in place.

       
  2. Ilongga

    June 7, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    this is one of the many original recipe’s of Ilonggo’s. Iloilo rulez…

     
    • iloveeverythingfood

      June 17, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      Yes, this is just one of the many original recipes Ilonggo’s have. Thanks for dropping by.

       
  3. Nica Mandigma | Virtual Assistant

    August 8, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    This I have to try! This is perfect for a rainy weather like this.

     
  4. Tristan

    August 9, 2012 at 1:43 am

    Wow! I never knew there’s another chicken soup dish like this one and from your description itself, it looks like it really tastes good! My grandparents are both from Ilo-ilo and I’m sure they know about this… I might ask my mom and try to cook this one time! :D

     
    • iloveeverythingfood

      August 9, 2012 at 9:43 am

      You should ask your mom Tristan. This is a must try :) I am half Ilonggo on my father’s side but sadly they didn’t know this dish. I only knew this dish existed when a relative of my husband cooked this for us. :)

       
  5. Susan Guinto

    August 9, 2012 at 5:05 am

    I suddenly missed this… and my mom too! For some weird reason, there are certain food that I cannot eat, unless my cooked it. Laing, Ginataang Langka, Kare-Kare and Kaldereta –> they just simply have to be cooked by my mom! :)

     
  6. NahZih Tan Gamba

    October 20, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    wow. this looks yummy.. hope i can taste it. hehehe..

    cdo adventures

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

